Monday, September 11, 2017

SuperFudge by Judy Blume


Superfudge (Fudge, #3)

Age Group: Middle Grade
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Publisher: April 5th, 2007 by Puffin Books



Summary: From Judy Blume, bestselling author of Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing!

Fans young and old will laugh out loud at the irrepressible wit of Peter Hatcher, the hilarious antics of mischievous Fudge, and the unbreakable confidence of know-it-all Sheila Tubman in Judy Blume’s five Fudge books. Brand-new covers adorn these perennial favorites, and will entice a whole new generation of Fudge—and Judy Blume—fans.

“As a kid, Judy Blume was my favorite author, and Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing was my favorite book.”—Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling Wimpy Kid series 

My Thoughts: This book was a book that I used to read a lot as a child. Which says a lot about the type of vocabulary. It's really a fun and easy read. The stories of Peter and Fudge remind me of my relationship with my siblings, which is really cool because the relateability of the book helped me interact with this book. I also really loved the childish tone of the book because in my opinion in made the book more easy and fun to read. These books are designed for younger readers, so they don't really have a decent plot that leads to a preset end goal, but that's sort of what makes this book an easy read.


Sunday, August 27, 2017

The Homework Strike By Greg Pincus


The Homework Strike

Age Group: Middle Grade
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Published: January 3rd, 2017 by Arthur A. Levine Books



Summary: Gregory K. has too much homework.

Middle school is hard work, and Gregory tries to be a good student. He participates in class, he studies for his tests -- he and his friends even help each other with their assignments. But no matter what he does, there's never enough time to finish all his homework. It just isn't fair.

So Gregory goes on a total, complete homework strike. No worksheets, no essays, no projects. His friends think he's crazy. His parents are worried about his grades. And his principal just wants him to stop making trouble. Can Gregory rally his fellow students, make his voice heard, and still pass seventh grade?

Find out in this book for anyone who thinks school is stressful, gets headaches from homework, or just wants to be heard.

My Thoughts: Wow this was such an interesting book. This is an idea EVERY student for literally 50 years has been complaining about, including me. I, too, find it hard to believe that hours upon hours of homework is really supposed to HELP me instead of hurting me by stressing me out. It was such a unique way going about the topic. It was really interesting to read about the homework strike, because all the challenges Greg goes through are legitimate things someone going on strike will encounter. I really did like as he discovered it isn't easy to convince people to defy authority. I also love the little side plots that seem like they don't mean anything but really hekp the main plot. I also must point out all the fun facts that are in there that really are intriguing. I REALLY DID love this book as much as some of Stuart Gibbs's work, which is saying a lot.

Rating: 9.5 out of ten.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

I GOT SPY SCHOOL SECRET SERVICE



WOOOOO it finally happened! My blogger status has gotten me a Stuart Gibbs book. Don't believe me, well how about this.

There it is in all it's glory. Ah, isn't the cover so beautiful. Anyways, obviously I've read it and REALLY want to post a review but I've been told it's advised I don't. But for now you can stare at it. Oh, and check out my comeback to the JTB YT channel, where I unbox it.

ALSO GO BUY THE BOOK NOW!!! ---> CLICK ME













































Alright so obviously I wouldn't leave you hanging like that. Let me answer a few questions I'm bound to receive.

But Justin, how did you get that??? Where can I receive an early copy of SSSS???

Two words, blogger perks. I'm sorry, but a big time publisher doens't give these out to good 'ol civilians like you. NOT TRYING TO BE MEAN, but it's kind of the truth. I'll explain that in a video

JUSTIN, DOES BEN ASK OUT ERICA??? WHAT HAPPENS TO MIKE?? DO WE SEE ERICA'S MOM??? (insert commonly asked question)?

The answer to all of those is: go read the book. The best part is I know exactly every main question because I stalk the Stuart Gibbs website, so I know all the answers, but you won't here a peep from me.

What about just a little sneak peek?

Nope. TRUST ME all your questions will be answered, but you must wait until the book comes out.

So yeah. GO BUY THE BOOK. I plan on posting about it BUT I WONT POST SPOILERS. Mostly I'll be hyping it up.

Friday, August 4, 2017

Home Run by Tim Green


Home Run (Baseball Great, #4)

Genre: Sports Fiction
Age Group: Middle Grade
Publishing Date: Februrary 23rd, 2016 by harper Collins


Summary: Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica's sports books and Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventures, New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green gives readers a thrilling new addition to his bestselling Baseball Great series.

Josh's life has just fallen apart. His father will no longer be coaching the travel baseball team and is moving to Florida, forcing his mom and little sister to move into a small apartment on the wrong side of town. To make matters worse, the new coach of the travel team is an unforgiving drill sergeant.

But then Benji tells Josh of a home-run derby in which the winner gets a brand-new house. All Josh has to do to qualify is hit twenty home runs during his travel-team season. With Benji and Jaden's help, Josh is hoping to hit it out of the park and save his family, because if he strikes out, he may just lose everything.

My Thoughts: What a fascinating roller coaster. There were so many bumps and uphills (conflicts) as well as many thrills which kept the book fun and exciting to read, which all somehow revolved around a baseball team. I seriously love Tim Green's work. For those who say they don't read sports fiction, give one of this books a try. From a plain old book's standard, it is good, but when if you already love sports, you will, well, love his books I guess. I will say though I don't really appreciate that everything is being told in third person. I mean some books make third person work, and I liked it, but I feel like if we really got to see inside main character Josh's brain, I feel like it would've made the book a lot better.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

THE REVEAL OF A NEW SERIES: JTB ReReads

So yeah, this is basically sort of like a play on words on the YouTube Rewind videos, but basically what I'm going to do is all the books I decide the reread, I'm going to review and compare it to my original review and see if I have any changed emotions.

"But Justin, why would I want to read separate reviews on the same book?"

Well multiple reasons. For one, lots of people have recently joined my blog and haven't read the older reviews. Secondly, many people (including me) often have mixed feelings when they read books. Originally, they might have thought the book was great no matter what just because it was new and because of the hype, but after reading it again a year later, it might end up being a dud. Also, it gives me an excuse to talk about Spy School again :D.

I can't think of any reasons why I shouldn't do this series. Please, try to roast this series in the comment below. Every "roast" I will edit this post and put the insult in bold, along with my response. The series will begin tomorrow.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Snoop Troop: It Came From Beneath the Playground by Kirk Scroggs


Snoop Troop: It Came from Beneath the Playground

Genre: Mystery
Age Group: Middle Grade
Publishing Date: September 9th, 2014 by Little Brown Books

Summary: Every newly independent reader will be rolling on the floor--and has a chance to solve the mystery--in this wildly wacky mash-up of chapter book and graphic novel, with art on every page, interactive seek-and-find elements, and more!
In this first book of the series, fourth-grade detective Logan Lang is facing the biggest case of her career. Someone--or something--is stealing everything that kids love. Toys! The amusement park carousel! Even the school playground! All of them sucked underground without a trace. Logan will have to team up with her longtime nemesis and super cop wannabe Gustavo Muchomacho if she wants to stop this subterranean scoundrel. With her serious doodling skills and his arsenal of high-tech sky mustaches, they'll race against the clock to unearth a master criminal.
Bonus backmatter is loaded with extra puzzles, word jumbles, instructions for drawing suspects, and doodle activities

My Thoughts: I don't know what to think about this book. It sounds weird to say, but it is true I guess. I will say however, that like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid Books, it is a very passive book, although this one seemed to have a plot. However, in my opinion, a downfall was that the book tried to play with the reader more. This included stops in the book to have you do a task, such as find stuff in the picture or try to figure out who did it. Nothing bad about that, for the type of book it is, it is fine, although I would not try to classify this is a serious novel, more like a fun and easy read, which again is fine. I do want to point out something cool: the new perspective. This was very unique in that the book is in third-person but the narrator talks to the characters. It was pretty interesting.

Rating: 8 out of ten

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Stuart Gibbs Update

Not sure why I needed to write this post, but I'd like to give a little update with SG.

First off, the Waste of Space Cover is out. You can read more about it and the plot here



Also, turns out still haven't read Panda-Monium. Not sure why, but I haven't. Pretty sad. Oh well, I'll get on it soon. No Spoilers!